Book News and Book Promotion articles from Publishers Newswire(tm)  

News : Events & Shows

Nebula Science Fiction 2005 Award Nominees Announced
Published: Sat, 25 Feb 2006, 01:00 EDT

By Aria C. Munro
Staff Writer, Publishers Newswire
Email this article Print this article RSS Feeds Add to My Yahoo!

CHESTERTOWN, MD (PUBLISHERS NEWSWIRE) -- The final ballot for the 2005 Nebula Awards was announced Feb. 24 by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. The Nebula Awards are voted on and presented by active members of the SFWA ( The awards will be announced at the Nebula Awards Banquet in Tempe, Arizona, May 6.

A list of the nominees for the 2005 Nebula Award:

Novels: Air by Geoff Ryman, Camouflage by Joe Haldeman, Going Postal by Terry Pratchett, Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke, Polaris by Jack McDevitt, Orphans of Chaos by John C. Wright

Novellas: "Clay's Pride" by Bud Sparhawk, "Identity Theft" by Robert J. Sawyer, "Left of the Dial" by Paul Witcover, "Magic for Beginners" by Kelly Link, "The Tribes of Bela" by Albert Cowdrey

Novelettes: "The Faery Handbag" by Kelly Link, "Flat Diane" by Daniel Abraham, "Men are Trouble" by Jim Kelly, "Nirvana High" by Eileen Gunn and Leslie What, "The People of Sand and Slag" by Paolo Bacigalupi

Short Stories: "Born-Again" by K.D. Wentworth, "The End of the World as We Know It" by Dale Bailey, "I Live With You" by Carol Emshwiller, "My Mother, Dancing" by Nancy Kress, "Singing My Sister Down" by Margo Lanagan, "Still Life With Boobs" by Anne Harris, "There's a Hole in the City" by Richard Bowes

Scripts: "Act of Contrition"/"You Can't Go Home Again" by Carla Robinson, Bradley Thompson and David Weddle, Battlestar Galactica; Serenity by Joss Whedon

Andre Norton Award: The Amethyst Road by Louise Spiegler, Siberia by Ann Halam, Stormwitch by Susan Vaught, Valiant: A Modern Tale of Faerie by Holly Black

Grand Master: Harlan Ellison

At the 2006 Nebula Awards® weekend, Harlan Ellison will be honored by becoming the latest Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master for his lifetime achievement in science fiction and fantasy. William F. Nolan will be honored as Author Emeritus. The Nebula Awards weekend will be held on May 4-7 at the Tempe Mission Palms in Tempe, Arizona.

Andre Norton Award

Beginning in 2006, SFWA will present the Andre Norton Award for an outstanding young adult science fiction or fantasy book published in 2005.

About SFWA

Damon Knight (1922-2002) founded SFWA in 1965. Today, SFWA's 1500 members include most professional writers of science fiction and fantasy in North America, and many from elsewhere in the universe.

More information:

* * *

2004 Nebula Winners

The 2004 Nebulas were awarded on Saturday, April 30, 2005 in Chicago, IL.

Novel: Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold

Novella: "The Green Leopard Plague" by Walter Jon Williams

Novelette: "Basement Magic" by Ellen Klages

Short Story: "Coming to Terms" by Eileen Gunn

Script: Lord of the Rings: Return of the King by Frances Walsh, Phillipa Boyens, Peter Jackson (New Line)

Grand Master: Anne McCaffrey

RESOURCES:  Email this article Print this article RSS Feeds Add to My Yahoo!

- Advertisement -

Promote Your Book
book news and marketing information
Member BBB Online Program
book news

Thu, 22 Jan 2009 01:43 PM EDT